Skip to main content

Teacher Awards

Teacher Awards

PSMLA Teacher of the Year

This program is intended to select viable candidates for the ACTFL Teacher of the Year.  Candidates must be full-time world language Pre-K-12 teachers or postsecondary instructors or professors who spend at least 50% of their time in direct teaching during the year of application with an expectation of teaching for at least two additional years.  Candidates must be in the profession a minimum of five years and demonstrate excellence in world language education; be an active member of PSMLA for a minimum of 3 complete consecutive years (for example January 1, 2013 – December 31, 2015); demonstrate leadership in world language education; impact the local, state, and/or national arenas; and demonstrate continued growth as a world language educator.

Check out our recent PSMLA Teachers of the Year.

Nomination criteria and application    

Applications are due on March 31. Send your application to

PSMLA Outstanding World Language Educator of the Year

  • Maximum awards: one K-12 and one post-secondary education
    Criteria considered:
    • Significant contribution to the profession  
    • Minimum ten years teaching, supervisory and/or administrative experience 
    • Membership for three current, consecutive years in PSMLA  
    • Active involvement in at least one other foreign language association is highly recommended.  
    • Recipients receive a plaque at the Fall Conference.  
    • Candidates may be selected from the region where the conference is held.
  • Current Executive Council members are not eligible.

    Nomination criteria and application     Send the application to

Merit Award:

  • Criteria
    • Given to individuals or institutions who have rendered exceptional service in the promotion of foreign languages
    • Must be individuals or institutions outside the foreign language profession
  • One to three awards presented at the Fall Conference
  • Recipients receive a plaque at the Fall Conference
  • Current Executive Council members are not eligible.